Guinea junta announces reopening of borders

The military junta in Conakry has announced the gradual reopening of borders with neighbouring countries in a statement read on national TV.

Some of the borders have been closed since last week’s coup and others for months beforehand.

The Senegal, Sierra Leone and Guinea-Bissau borders were ordered closed by President Alpha Condé in September 2020, for security reasons, before the 18 October presidential election.

Mr Condé also denounced attempts to destabilise Guinea by using the territory of neighbouring countries.

This closure caused diplomatic tension given the significant movement of people and goods in the region.

The border with Sierra Leone is scheduled to reopen on Wednesday.

The one with Liberia will reopen on Thursday, Ivory Coast’s on Friday, Mali’s on Saturday, Guinea-Bissau’s on Monday and Senegal’s on Friday next week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.